“Life-Changing” Kitchen Sink Cookies!

Standard

Hi everyone!

So, my coworker Leah shared this recipe with me the other day. It is fantastic, containing all the elements that make a recipe one of my favourites.

  1. It tastes great!
  2. It’s healthy
  3. It’s quick and easy to make
  4. Did I mention it tastes great?

I’ve decided to cut refined sugar and gluten out of my diet on a long-term basis, after consultations with a nutritionist, and noticing how much better I feel when I cut these two food elements out of my diet. That being said, I need to have some “go to” treats that taste like treats so I don’t feel I’m depriving myself. These cookies fit the bill! They are also packed with protein and so make a great snack.

So, without further ado: super nutritious Kitchen Sink Cookies (so-called because they contain a little bit of this and a little bit of that).

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup agave or liquid sweetener of choice (I like honey and use less than what the original recipe calls for)
  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened, desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins (I use Thompsons)
  • sprinkle of salt

1. Whisk together the coconut oil, cocoa, and agave syrup or other sweetener. Stir in the remaining ingredients.

2. Form into golf-sized balls & place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet.

3. Chill to firm. Eat frequently. ;)

Source: http://www.rawmazing.com

I’m planning to try making these soon with dried sour cherries instead of raisins; I suspect the chocolate/cherry combo will be a winner!

One thought on ““Life-Changing” Kitchen Sink Cookies!

Leave a Reply

